Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

  • Rae Knightly

Award-Winning MG and YA Book Giveaway (1-3 October, 2021)





Twenty-two authors who have won a 2021 Reader's Favorite gold or silver medal have joined forces to offer you their award-winning books at a reduced price on October 1-3, 2021.


Discover these highly rated books that range from fantasy, science-fiction, historical fiction and coming-of-age and are geared towards the avid middle-grade, preteen and young adult readers.


Click on the book cover or link below to find out more about your next favorite read!



Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians

By J.P. Hostetler

$0.99

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B093N1THPJ


A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a ship sails to protect that which cannot be lost.

Salem Swan knows none of this as he arrives in Easterly. He knows only that he misses his recently deceased mother, that his new guardian, his uncle Ulysses is unique, and that the boat which will now be his home is unlike anything he has ever seen.


Fearful of this new reality, Salem starts to ask questions that uncover the truth about his distant uncle, his long-gone father, and the true nature of the ship. The answers lead him into a place of myth and legend, where fantastic creatures wage an ages-old war with a radical group bent on eliminating them forever.


Rich with mythology from around the world, Hidden Meridians is the first installment of a fantasy series that takes readers into that place that is just around Curiosity's edge.



Ben Archer and the Toreq Son (The Alien Skill Series, Book 6)

By Rae Knightly

$0.99

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08HWQYPH5


Can a human boy save Earth from an alien invasion?


Things are looking dire for Ben Archer.


From his jail cell on an alien warship Ben watches, helpless, as the Toreq blast the Earth with droughts, floods and hurricanes. Ben‘s hopes of bringing balance back to the natural world are in shambles. His enemies accuse him of having misused his alien power and are only too happy to make him the scapegoat for humanity‘s wrongdoings.


Only Mesmo could convince his people to stand down. But Mesmo has disappeared and Ben fears the worst.

What can a thirteen-year-old-human boy do to save Earth? Can he regain his freedom and stop General Zoltar from executing his deep, dark secret – one that could doom them all?


The Alien Skill Series is a science-fiction adventure series for teens. Readers who enjoy Percy Jackson or Crime Travelers will enjoy this fresh, age-appropriate story with a scifi twist the likes of A Wrinkle in Time and Animorphs. These middle-grade books have won the hearts of young and old alike, turning them into a best-selling, award-winning coming-of-age series filled with alien powers, hidden enemies and a thought-provoking glimpse into the way we treat our planet.



Crimson Forest: The Crimson Chronicles Book 1

Christine Gabriel

$0.99

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00N340M2G


“Something horrible is happening in the Crimson Forest. I need you to promise me you’ll stay away from it.”


Eighteen-year-old Angelina Adams had every intention of taking that advice. She had no desire to disappear into the trees as so many hunters had done. But when her mother is brutally murdered in their home, and the attacker comes for her, she has no choice but to flee into the blood-red woodland that claimed her father’s life years before.


There she meets Nicolai, a handsome, mysterious stranger who vows to protect her from the dark forces bent on destroying her life. But can he be trusted? Is he who he says he is, or will he simply take what he wants from her and move on?


Angelina soon realizes that nothing is as it seems in the Crimson Forest, a place where creatures known only to humans through myth and legend fight for love and survival. It’s a world where fairy tales thrive, nightmares become reality, and some secrets are better left undiscovered.


Crimson Forest is the first book in The Crimson Chronicles, an exciting new adult fantasy series from Christine Gabriel. Book Two is Crimson Moon.



Feasters: An Apocalyptic Tale

Solomon Petchers

$0.99

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09B4F7R2Z


They move, they hunt, and with their dead hands, they will feast. As the world falls, flesh-eating monsters called Feasters rise. But from the ashes, new heroes are born. Teenage vampires, Kieran, Emily, and Andrew move through the shadows, fighting against a world gone mad. When the young vampires find humans in trouble, they must face choices that will test their trust and their humanity. Do the humans hold the key to the virus that swept across the planet? How far will the young vampires go to bring the world back from the brink of annihilation, and can they stop the hunger of the Feasters?



Flight of the Spark: A YA Epic Fantasy (The Outlawed Myth Book 1)

Evelyn Puerto

$0.99

https://books2read.com/flight-of-the-spark


An ancient prophecy, now an outlawed myth. A forbidden love, that could be deadly. A young girl, who was never meant to wield a magic amulet.


Iskra is terrified of breaking the rules. So her world turns upside-down when a supposedly savage outlaw rescues her from a gang of deadly bandits. But as she learns more about the rebellious outsiders and their magic amulets, the authorities abduct her friend to ensure her silence.


Determined to search forbidden territory for her missing confidant, Iskra finds herself falling for the brave renegade willing to help her cause. But when local leaders catch wind of her whereabouts, they'll do whatever it takes to stop this rule-breaker from learning the dangerous truth.


Will Iskra and her forbidden love escape the clutches of the ruthless leaders determined to silence her?

Flight of the Spark is the thrilling first book in The Outlawed Myth YA fantasy series. If you like dystopian worlds, tenacious heroines, compelling characters, and a splash of romance, then you'll love Evelyn Puerto's gripping tale.



Ghost Hunters: Bones in the Wall

Susan McCauley

$0.99

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08144JFZ9


Twelve-year-old Alex may have lost his ability to play sports, but he gained the ability to see ghosts. Now he must figure out how to put a malevolent spirit to rest -- or die trying.


Once an athlete and popular kid, Alex is in a terrible car accident that severely injures his hip and leaves him with a rare power: he can hear and see ghosts. All Alex wants is to be normal. But when a vicious spirit begins haunting him, Alex must accept his unwanted psychic powers and work with his best friend and his paranormal investigator cousin to solve the mystery of bones in the wall and put the ghosts in the house to rest. If he fails, he’ll lose his family and friends to a gruesome fate.


Ghost Hunters: Bones in the Wall is the first novel in the heart-pounding Ghost Hunters middle-grade horror series.



Hall of Skulls

Jamie Eubanks

$0.99

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08Y616SBZ


The abduction of aMokuteki female kicks off this sci-fi adventure of interstellar travel, an alieninvasion, and a confrontation with the violent species which invaded Kai'sworld 2000 years earlier.


When the provisional leader of the Mokuteki people is subjected to the brutal challenge of a lifetime, Kai soon realizes much more than just his title is at stake. To prove himself worthy of a leadership role he does not want, a torturous testing phase begins, one designed to break both body and spirit. As part of this challenge, while blindfolded and chained, Kai learns his betrothed, Asher, has been abducted.


In his search for Asher and truth, trading deeds for information, Kai has not only to face the Thrakens—the alien invaders who had nearly conquered his world —but also must fight against both time and space. Believing his future and that of Asher are inexorably entwined, he discovers his only hope is to unlock the ancient technology and secrets that lie within The Hall of Skulls.



In Light of the Summit (The Rainier Series Book 2)

Jamie McGillen

$0.99

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08LR4M7WD


The much-anticipated sequel to IN SIGHT OF THE MOUNTAIN!


After Anna Gallagher’s first climb on Mt. Rainier, she faces a new challenge—enduring the ridicule and threats that come with breaking tradition. In 1890, being a young female mountaineer makes polite society uncomfortable, even angry. But despite the threats and inherent risk, she still has plans for another climb, even if it jeopardizes her family bookstore, and puts her in more danger than she ever imagined.


Emily Watson has always been close with the Gallagher family. As a young girl she dreamed of a wealthy husband, a fine house, and a future in Seattle society and now she finally has it. Her desires couldn’t be more different than Anna’s, but she’s confronted with her own invisible mountain to climb when she’s suddenly poverty-stricken. She must decide what matters most, and whether true love is worth waiting for.


IN LIGHT OF THE SUMMIT is a captivating story of ambition, heartbreak, and redemption. It’s a tale of two childhood friends navigating womanhood in the late 19th century, with as much grace as they can muster, while still figuring out how to be true to themselves.



In the Orbit of Sirens (The Song of Kamaria Book 1)

T. A. Bruno

$0.99

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L1BT3QS


THE LAST FRAGMENTS OF THE HUMAN RACE ARE FORCED TO ADAPT TO A DANGEROUS NEW WORLD OR FACE EXTINCTION.


When starship mechanic, Denton Castus, is caught in the destructive path of a devastating war, he abandons his home and seeks refuge on a distant planet. However, this new safe haven has undiscovered threats of its own. Eliana Veston, a scout preparing the planet for the refugees, struggles with a deadly pandemic that is killing off colonists. The hunt for a cure unleashes a new threat to humanity—the Sirens—mysterious beings with incredible powers and a deep hatred for invaders.



Journey of the Hopewell Star

Hannah D. State

$0.99

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08F16GRHV


A mysterious star could bring stability to her world…or lead her to a blistering end.


Quiet and introverted twelve-year-old Sam Sanderson is comfortable living a simple life on her family’s peaceful farm. That is, until a mysterious visitor arrives one night, thrusting her on a formidable and dangerous journey across galaxies.


With little direction and no training manual, her mission is to find the elusive Hopewell Star to save a dying planet. But with time running out, a destructive business mogul tracking her every move, and deadly disasters threatening her community, she’ll have to rely on her wits, courage, and friends to make things right and restore peace to both worlds…all while surviving seventh grade.


From discovering the secret of the Hopewell Star to locating a lost civilization, this book has it all: exhilarating adventures, mystery and intrigue, and fascinating characters—you won’t be able to put it down!



Sword Fight: A Modern Medieval Adventure (Kingdom of Engines Book 1)

Nathan Van Coops

$0.99

https://books2read.com/sword-fight


DRIVE LIKE A KNIGHT.


What happens when a girl with nothing left to lose defies a family that will do anything to win?


Valerie was born with one foot on the accelerator.


Raised in a family of renowned swordsmen, her need for speed sets her apart. But when a tragic murder casts her out of the noble society she’s relied on to protect her, she has to master the way of the sword to fight her way back.